The word Mahā-Bhūta in Sanskrit means Mahā, great or large, and Bhuta, element. Mahā Bhūta is the term for the five essential elements which include: ākāśa, ether, vāyu, wind, agni, fire, āpas, water, prthivi, earth. The key word to focus on is essential. The Mahā Bhūtas are essential building blocks of the manifested universe. In Yoga and Ayurveda, it’s important to understand them.

Manorama’s Pronunciation Tips: Maha Bhuta

1. Connect with your breathing
2. Feel your feet underneath you
3. Say the first word Mahā (drop your jaw on the last ā as it is long and give a slight pause)
4. Then say Bhūta (push the breath out through the consonant ‘bha’ and elongate the vowel ‘ū’ making it a breathy ‘bhū.’ Then say fourth mouth position ‘ta.’ Thus bhū – ta
5. Put this all together: Mahā Bhūta, five essential elements
6. Enjoy the feeling of saying Sanskrit. It’s a particularly pleasing language to hear and say. Let the feeling of the sound meet you.

In the next quick and sacred Sanskrit post, I’ll be sharing about the Mahā Bhūta: Prthivi earth.

©2016 Manorama, Sanskrit Studies & Luminous Soul

Join Manorama in Miami

Just as autumn is turning to winter, join Manorama for The LUMINOUS LUSCIOUS Urban Miami Retreat at Prana Yoga Center which will feature Luminous Soul Meditation, chanting of Sanskrit mantras and wisdom discussions around a foundational pillar of the Luminous Soul practice. Plus two excursions!

Learn More!

When: Oct 6th – 9th, 2016, (Thursday to Sunday)
Where: Prana Yoga Miami- 247 Malaga Ave, Coral Gables, FL