Good karma is like creating good luck.  Karma is physics.  The bigger the impact of the good action, the larger the reaction.

Four Types of Karma

1. Sanchita Karma: our entire storehouse of karma

2. Prabhada Karma: dealt with in Jyotish; karma for this lifetime

3. Kriyamana Karma: actions we perform that come back to us relatively soon, in this lifetime or upcoming lifetimes

4. Agami Karma: karma that gives more immediate results

Good Intentions
Intention is important for results.

Our intention must be to serve others, and our actions must be dharmic (righteous).  Remember the saying that the road to hell is paved with good intentions.  Additionally, we must be detached from the results.  This creates merit (grace).

Karma is not immediate.  We can think of karma as sending out a frequency that has certain results.  We are receiving those frequencies in this lifetime from previous lifetimes.  Therefore it is important to have a consistent practice and to create stable behavior over time.

Karma Remedies
We can think of grace as medicine for past actions.  Past actions, thoughts and emotions can be broken down by the planetary energies in Jyotish or vedic astrology.  The mantras and actions given are the remedies for these actions.   In order for medicine to work, people also have to take care of their diet, exercise and stress levels.  Chanting mantras and doing sadhana (any spiritual practice such as yoga) is not enough.  We need to have a foundation of morality.  That is why the basis of the yoga sutras comes from the yamas and niyamas.  All religions have this basis (10 commandments in Christianity, the Eight Fold Noble Path given in Buddhism, etc.)

Keeping a spiritual journal is a helpful way of becoming aware of what actions you are performing as well as the current states of your thoughts and emotions. Simply keep a record of what is happening and then in time reflect back on the journal and make changes.  A helpful way to make changes is to pick a few concrete goals and then pick a few to implement in cycles of 40 days.

Jyotish can show us exactly what our karma is and help us work through these difficulties. Some karma is like a line in water, some in sand and some in concrete.  We cannot change our destiny, but the purer we become, the purer our destiny expresses itself.  The Jyotish chart shows us this important information so we can address our karma and create authentic change in our life.

Karma is a complex topic that we should not focus on too deeply. It’s better to focus on being a good person and chanting our mantras.  If we perform right actions and do our spiritual practices than in time we will naturally create more positive karma.  Of course the goal is to be in a state of karma yoga (performing actions for God or Guru with detachment) so we can purify all of our karma.  A gold chain binds us as much as a copper one.


Photo courtesy of