Charaka Samhita – Sutrastana – Chapter 1

Dharma, Artha, Kama, Moksha: The 4 Pursuits of Life

Good health stands at the root of virtuous acts, acquirement of wealth, gratification of desire and final emancipation.

Diseases are the destroyers of health, well being and life. This has manifested itself as a great obstacle in the way of human life.

Dharma is associated with the soul itself, which is to be inferred from its results. Artha is the attainment of wealth etc. Kama is the fulfillment of worldly desires, like that of embracing sex. Moksha is liberation from the world.

Arogya (meaning health) represents the equilibrium of the dhatus (bodily tissues) in the absence of disease. Health is therefore essential for one to achieve these four pursuits of life, as much as one who is suffering from disease is absolutely incapable of performing any act conducive to the attainment of any of these four objects.

Happiness is the ultimate goal of human life. For this, balance of mental, physical, spiritual and social health and well being is essential.

Ayurveda is the method through which the ill can overcome their suffering in order to attain their desired happiness during this human birth.


Dharma Artha Kama Moksha

 Featured Photo:
Article Photos: